23 August | 10:15–10:45

The Book of Five Rings: The Void / Das Buch der fünf Ringe: Leere

E-Musikgruppe Lux Ohr feat. Lau Nau

Photo of E-Musikgruppe Lux Ohr
Photo: Jaakko Penttinen

For each Five Rings of ABOAGORA, E-Musikgruppe Lux Ohr produces and performs a composition exploring the theme of the year. Each work features a guest musician or musicians. At ABOAGORA 2023 they will collaborate with Lau Nau for the performance of the fifth and final one of the five thematic annual compositions: Leere (The Void).

E-Musikgruppe Lux Ohr is a kosmische Musik group from Turku, Finland. The band members are Pertti Grönholm (synthesizers, samplers, sequencers and percussion), Kimi Kärki (e-guitar, EBow and effects) and Ismo Virta (Memotron, e-guitar and effects). Their music is a mixture of ‘Berlin School’ style of sequenced space travels, electro-acoustic improvisations and krautrock with melancholic and psychedelic moods. Their third studio album Non plus ultra (Svart Records, LP + digital) was released in 2020. In addition, E-Musikgruppe Lux Ohr has released three live albums, a split album and a mini album.

Photo of Lau Nau
Photo: Camilla Rehnstrand

Lau Nau, aka Laura Naukkarinen, is a composer, whose music is imbued with an idiosyncratic, finely honed sound world. She combines traditional instruments and singing voice to analogue synthesizers and field recordings. Her most recent album 5 x 4 (Fonal Records & Beacon sound 2023) is recorded with the legendary Buchla 200 synthesizer at Elektronmusikstudion Stockholm. To date, Lau Nau has released nine albums in Europe, USA and Japan, won the Femma and Finnish State Art Prize and received nominations  for the Teosto, Emma and Jussi awards, among others. Nowadays, she is known for her music for films and sound installations.